Historical fiction

    Crimson and Bone

    By Marina Fiorato

    Hardback Save £4.74 = £13.25

    A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from bestselling author Marina Fiorato, for readers of Perfume, Sarah Waters' Fingersmith and Michael Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White.

    Crimson and Bone

    By Marina Fiorato

    Paperback Save £3.54 = £11.45

    A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from bestselling author Marina Fiorato, for readers of Perfume, Sarah Waters' Fingersmith and Michael Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White.

    This Was a Man

    By Jeffrey Archer

    Paperback Save £0.74 = £7.25

    This Was a Man is the seventh and final, captivating instalment of the Clifton Chronicles from master storyteller Jeffrey Archer. This Was a Man opens with a shot being fired, but who pulled the trigger, and who lives and who dies? In Whitehall, Giles Barrington discovers the truth about his...

    Tomorrow Brings Sorrow

    By Mary Wood

    Paperback £6.65

    You can't choose your family Megan and her husband Jack have finally found stability in their lives. But the threat of Megan's troubled son Billy is never far from their minds. Billy's release from the local asylum is imminent and it should be a time for celebration. Sadly, Megan and...

    Inferno

    By Julian Stockwin

    Paperback Save £1.14 = £7.85

    Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brien, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: Inferno is the seventeenth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Captain Kydd series.

    Pharaoh

    By Wilbur Smith

    Paperback Save £0.74 = £7.25

    The Worldwide Number One Bestseller Wilbur Smith returns to Ancient Egypt in a captivating new novel that will transport you to extraordinary times.

    Orphans and Angels

    By Linda Finlay

    Paperback Save £0.34 = £6.65

    **The second compelling book in the much loved Red Cliffs Ragged School Series** For orphan Solomon, Red Cliffs offers a place of safety. But he still has something to hide ...When young Solomon's father is injured in a tragic accident he finds himself at the Red Cliffs Ragged School on...

    Before the Rains

    By Dinah Jefferies

    Paperback Save £0.74 = £7.25

    A romantic, heart-wrenching tale of love against the odds from the Number One Sunday Times bestselling author 1930, Rajputana, India. Since her husband's death, 28-year-old photojournalist Eliza's only companion has been her camera. When the British Government send her to an Indian princely state to photograph the royal family, she's...

    Rage of Ares

    By Christian Cameron

    Paperback £7.85

    The epic story of the Long War of the Greeks and Persians climaxes with the earth-shattering Battle of Plataea.

    Persephone

    By Julian Stockwin

    Hardback £13.85

    Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: Persephone is the eighteenth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series.

    Latest from the blog

    Fantastic new recipe book from Sabrina Ghayour 'Sirocco'

    Sabrina Ghayour's long awaited second recipe book Sirocco is out this month and is a great follow up to Persianna. Read article

    Ten Great Bedtime Reads from The Great British Bookshop and Aspace

    We have teamed up with Aspace (www.aspace.co.uk) who create beautiful room for Children to bring you 10 great bedtime reads for your little ones. Read article

    Latest from Twitter

    • @TheGBBookshop - 8 months ago

      Lottery funding for dementia reading project £2m pledged for Reading Agency scheme to pair readers with dementia sufferers

      @TheGBBookshop - 8 months ago

      Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has held on to the number one spot for a sixth week #HarryPotter #CursedChild @littlebrown @pottermore

    • @TheGBBookshop - 9 months ago

      @thebookseller @MartinaCole @Jeffrey_Archer @Foyles

      @TheGBBookshop - 9 months ago

      Frith wins inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration t.co/U9P08h4XMG

    • @TheGBBookshop - 9 months ago

      RT @Gue_de_Bost: #Dordogneholidaycottage available Sept tweet to book for more info

      @TheGBBookshop - 9 months ago

      The editor is just back from france @HomeAwayUK! t.co/IWutTER1x7