Historical fiction

    Pillars of the Earth

    By Ken Follett

    Paperback Save £1.54 = £8.45

    A spellbinding epic tale of ambition, anarchy, and absolute power set against the sprawling medieval canvas of twelfth-century England, this is Ken Follett's classic historical masterpiece. The Pillars of the Earth tells the story of Philip, prior of Kingsbridge, a devout and resourceful monk driven to build the greatest Gothic...

    World Without End

    By Ken Follett

    Paperback Save £1.54 = £8.45

    On the day after Halloween, in the year 1327, four children slip away from the cathedral city of Kingsbridge. They are a thief, a bully, a boy genius and a girl who wants to be a doctor. In the forest they see two men killed. As adults, their lives will...

    House on Cocoa Beach

    By Beatriz Williams

    Paperback Save £0.74 = £7.25

    Lose yourself in a sweeping love story this summer - perfect for fans of Dinah Jeffries and Santa Montefiore

    Leopard at the Door

    By Jennifer McVeigh

    Paperback £7.25

    'A simply stunning novel that will stay with me: a magnificent book' Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of The Tea Planter's WifeStepping off the boat in Mombasa, eighteen-year-old Rachel Fullsmith stands on Kenyan soil for the first time in six years. She has come home.But when Rachel reaches the family farm...

    Stroika

    By Mark Blair

    Paperback Save £1.54 = £8.45

    1989 - the world holds its breath. The Soviet Union is on the brink of collapse, its eastern empire in a state of rebellion. Only a street trader, a drug dealer, a discredited young colonel and a woman, haunted by her past, stand between the world and Armageddon.

    The Himalayan Summer: The heartbreaking story of a missing child and a true love

    By Louise Brown

    Paperback Save £1.95 = £7.04

    From the author of EDEN GARDENS, an Indian story of love, obsession and the quest to find a child - for all fans of THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE.

    The True Soldier: Jack Lark 6

    By Paul Fraser Collard

    Hardback Save £6.12 = £13.87

    The sixth action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter.

    By Gaslight

    By Steven Price

    Paperback Save £1.14 = £7.85

    A brilliantly written tale of love, betrayal and murder in Victorian England

    Wish Child

    By Catherine Chidgey

    Hardback £10.25

    Captain's Girl

    By Nicola Pryce

    Paperback £7.25

    A stunning second novel in Nicola Pryce's eighteenth-century Cornish saga, following the desperate struggles of heroine Celia Cavendish as she bravely attempts to craft her own future.

    Latest from the blog

    Fantastic new recipe book from Sabrina Ghayour 'Sirocco'

    Sabrina Ghayour's long awaited second recipe book Sirocco is out this month and is a great follow up to Persianna. Read article

    Ten Great Bedtime Reads from The Great British Bookshop and Aspace

    We have teamed up with Aspace (www.aspace.co.uk) who create beautiful room for Children to bring you 10 great bedtime reads for your little ones. Read article

    Latest from Twitter

    • @TheGBBookshop - 10 months ago

      Lottery funding for dementia reading project £2m pledged for Reading Agency scheme to pair readers with dementia sufferers

      @TheGBBookshop - 10 months ago

      Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has held on to the number one spot for a sixth week #HarryPotter #CursedChild @littlebrown @pottermore

    • @TheGBBookshop - 11 months ago

      @thebookseller @MartinaCole @Jeffrey_Archer @Foyles

      @TheGBBookshop - 11 months ago

      Frith wins inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration t.co/U9P08h4XMG

    • @TheGBBookshop - 11 months ago

      RT @Gue_de_Bost: #Dordogneholidaycottage available Sept tweet to book for more info

      @TheGBBookshop - 11 months ago

      The editor is just back from france @HomeAwayUK! t.co/IWutTER1x7